Every year, the Milwaukee Bar Association recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of members within the legal community at the MBA Annual Meeting. Out of the thousands of lawyers in our community, Attorney Michael J. Cohen was selected as this year’s 2022 Distinguished Service Award recipient. The MBA presents the award to a member of the bar whose extraordinary service over the years has helped to support and better the legal profession. 

Michael held various leadership roles in the MBA over many years, first as Co-Chair of the Bench Bar Civil Division Committee, then as a Board Member, then as Vice President and finally as President of the MBA. During his year as President of the MBA, the MBA launched the first annual fundraising campaign for the Milwaukee Justice Center and also held the first-ever Milwaukee Justice Center 5K Run for Justice. The Milwaukee Justice Center is a collaborative project between the Milwaukee Bar Association, The Milwaukee Bar Foundation, Milwaukee County, and Marquette University Law School. The project’s underlying philosophy is that self-represented litigants have a fundamental right to access the justice system even if they cannot afford an attorney or do not qualify for legal aid. The Milwaukee Justice Center has been very successful, serving over 8,000 clients per year by helping to guide them through our complex legal system, through assistance in filling out forms, brief legal advice and referrals. After his year as President, Michael served as Past President on the MBA Board and then became a Board Member and later Vice President of The Milwaukee Bar Foundation.   

In response to receiving such an honorable award, Michael stated, “I am extremely honored to receive the MBA’s Distinguished Service Award. My tenures on the MBA Board, President and the MBA Foundation Board were all extremely important and rewarding in immeasurable ways.” 

We are proud to have Michael J. Cohen as a shareholder of Meissner Tierney Fisher & Nichols S.C. and applaud him for such a prestigious award. Congratulations, Michael!